Benefits of Good Posture

I want you to take minute and analyze your posture. It doesn’t matter whether you are seated or standing. How are you seated, are you leaning forward or is your back straight? We talk about our minds a lot and how it afects our bodies but do our bodies have any effect on our minds?

Last week, I was seated at my desk ready to write this post. But for some reason I couldn’t get any content. I had writers block, and in addition, I felt very sleepy. I tried a few things to psyche me up like taking sweets, drinking water, stretching and even taking a nap but after all this, when I came back to my desk, I still felt sleepy. I had no idea what I was doing wrong until I looked at how I was seated.

I had never really thought about posture that much since it’s something that automatically forms. How we seat at work, at home, at school or even on a bench in town overtime tends to take a particular default form. You can think of it as an automatic thing that happens and sometimes because of work or too much thought, we may forget to pay attention to it all together.

I thought about an interview where I was seated outside of the boss’s office getting ready. When the interview takes too long, in most cases people tend to get a little comfortable. That means leaning back on the chair or slouching. The impact of this is that over time we become sluggish and by the time we are going in for the interview, we are not at our best.

This explains why we can wake up feeling like we own the world then a few hours later we feel like we have no control over it. We feel sloppy and tired yet the day has just begun. Our posture affects our present moment so if you want more control over it, make some adjustments. The idea is very simple, if you take a bus or matatu, ensure you pay attention to how you are seated because it may affect you after you get off at your next stop and if you drive, adjust your seat. This will help you reduce fatigue which is caused by bad posture.

As I write down this article, I am seated upright and I feel like I own the world. I can feel the ideas flowing through me and I feel more confident and in charge of the moment. So do you ever notice a change in mood  suddenly especially when you had planned to own your day? Then look no further, your posture could be the problem. Make an adjustment, and take control of your day.

Have a nice day 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

